Teacher Standards and Practices Commission



465 Commercial St NE Salem, OR 97301

Voice (503) 378-3586

Contact.tspc@state.or.us www.tspc.state.or.us

How to Renew Your Oregon Teaching License

Your Oregon Teaching License will be expiring within the next 90 days

Fees:

Nonrefundable evaluation fee: Late fees begin on the expiration date of your license: \$100

\$25/month for each month or portion of a month that your license has expired to a maximum of \$100 in late fees.

- 1. Please refer to the advice letter which accompanied your license for specific renewal information. If you have misplaced the letter, read the following and then contact our office for any information you may need. Please do not apply for renewal more than 90 days before your current license expires.
- 2. Fill out the Application for Educator License, Form C-1. Be sure to complete all sections of this form as this information is needed to evaluate your application. If you have educational experience or have attended a college or university during the life of your current license, please note that experience in the Experience section and the preparation in the Education section. If you have not had educational experience during the life of your current license, indicate "none." If you have not attended a college or university during the life of your current license, indicate "none." Be sure to complete the Character Questions section and include any additional documentation which may be required by that section. Lastly, sign and date the application no more than 90 days prior to submission of your application packet.
- 3. Request your district to complete the *Professional Educational Experience Report Form* if you have been serving as an educator during the life of your current license. If your experience is in a public school or a regionally accredited private school outside of Oregon you must also submit a photocopy of your out-of-state license. If you are verifying regionally accredited private school experience, you will need to submit documentation of the school's accreditation. The documentation of accreditation should reflect the time-frame for the experience you are verifying. The PEER form must be submitted in a sealed school district envelope.
- 4. If required for renewal, request the Director of Teacher Education at your college or university to verify either renewal requirements for the Basic Teaching License or completion of the standard or continuing program on the *Program Completion Report Form C-2*. The Form C-2 must be submitted to TSPC electronically.
- 5. If you are using credit to renew your license or are applying for the standard license, it will be necessary to submit an official transcript(s) bearing the seal of the institution and signature of the registrar in a separate sealed registrar's envelope. However, transcripts are not required when renewing with the *Program Completion Report, Form C-2* verifying 24 quarter hours toward standard licensure.
- 6. Educators verifying completion of a standard program must submit original score reports from tests of specialty area if required for your Oregon standard program. Submit original score reports to TSPC with your application. Your original score reports will be returned to you after recording. See the Director of Teacher Education at the Oregon college or university where you are completing your standard program for information on testing requirements.
- 7. Submit a certificate verifying completion of a Commission-approved workshop/activity to demonstrate knowledge of the laws prohibiting discrimination if you reside in or teach in Oregon and have not previously submitted the certificate. A photocopy is acceptable. The affidavit stating that you have read the self-study booklet is not acceptable for renewal unless you reside outside of Oregon and do not serve as an educator in Oregon. If you completed a Basic Teaching License program in an Oregon institution since September 1, 1978, you have met this requirement.
- 8. Renewal of a Basic, Standard, or a Continuing License requires verification of Continuing Professional Development on your PEER Form (see 3 above). Contact your district office for information.

What Type Of License Are You Making Application for Evaluation?

If You Completed an Oregon Approved Division 16 Standard Program, Or if you Have Completed A Master's Degree Through An Approved Teacher Education Institution In Another State, The Program Completion Report, Form C-2 Is Not Required. Please refer to your advice letter which accompanied your license for specific renewal information. If you have misplaced the letter, contact Teacher Standards and Practices Commission for any information you may need.

If You Hold An Interim Teaching License, a Provisional License, License Of Accomplishment, or Any Restricted Teaching License, please refer to the letter which accompanied your license. If you have misplaced the letter contact our office for any information you may need.

If You Are Renewing A Basic Teaching License For Use In Grades Five Through Twelve, Preprimary Through Grade Twelve Or Special Education, you must fill out the top portion of the Program Completion Report, Form C-2 and have it completed by the Director of Teacher Education at the institution where you are completing your standard teacher education program verifying that you have completed 24 quarter hours of preparation applicable to that program. Program Completion Report, Form C-2 must be submitted in a sealed envelope from the college or university. Please refer to your letter which accompanied your license. If you have misplaced the letter contact our office for any information you may need.

If You Are Applying For Your First Standard Teaching License, you must submit the Program Completion Report, Form C-2 completed by the Director of Teacher Education verifying completion of a standard teacher education program, an official transcript bearing the seal of the institution and the signature of the registrar, and NTE/Praxis original scores reports. Program Completion Report, Form C-2 must be submitted in a sealed envelope from the college or university. The Standard Teaching License requires that you have successful teaching experience in Oregon schools. Those receiving a Basic Teaching License prior to January 1, 1990, are required to verify two years of full-time experience or three years of one-half time or more experience is required.

NOTE: If you have been advised by our office that you need only specific courses or experience for the Standard Teaching License, the **Program Completion Report, Form C-2** is not required.

If You Are Applying for Your First Continuing Teaching License, you must request the Program Completion Report, Form C-2 completed by the Director of Teacher Education verifying completion of a continuing teacher education program be sent electronically to TSPC and an official transcript(s) bearing the seal of the institution and the signature of the registrar verifying completion of the continuing program and completion of a master's degree, if not previously submitted. Additionally, the Continuing Teaching License requires that you have successful teaching experience of at least three years of one-half time or more in Oregon schools on a Initial or Transitional Teaching License.

If You Are Renewing A Basic Teaching License To Teach Your Subject Area In An Elementary, Middle Or Junior High School, you must verify completion of one of the following during the life of the license:

- ✓ One year of full-time or two consecutive years of one-half time or more appropriately assigned successful teaching experience*, or 180 days (full-time equivalent days if less than half-time) of teaching, which can include substitute experience, in Oregon schools; or volunteer or instructional assistance experience. All experience must be verified on the Professional Educational Experience Report Form.
- ✓ Nine quarter hours of preparation completed through an approved institution. The preparation must be germane to your license or meet State Board Priorities.

NOTE: A combination of Oregon school experience and credit may be used in which one quarter hour equals twenty days of teaching.

*Experience acceptable for this requirement must be completed in: Public schools in the United States, state and federal schools in Oregon, registered private schools in Oregon, special state-supported schools in Oregon, the Oregon Department of Education, the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission, Oregon Department of Human Resources, juvenile court schools in Oregon, Oregon education service districts, public schools in other governmental jurisdictions, schools operated by the United States Department of Defense and regionally accredited private schools. If you are verifying experience from a regionally accredited private school, you will need to submit documentation of the school's regional accreditation for the time-frame of the experience you are verifying. College instructors who teach at the Oregon Institute of Technology, Oregon public community colleges, and approved teacher education institutions may verify teaching three different college courses appropriate to the license and endorsement(s) being renewed. Verification must be provided by the institution's registrar.

Definitions

Oregon Schools

Oregon Schools include public school districts, Oregon education service districts, registered private schools preprimary through grade twelve, state and federal schools in Oregon and special state-supported schools in Oregon serving students ages three through twenty-one.

State Board Priorities

The following areas are identified by the Commission as reflecting current needs of public school personnel and priorities of the State Board: reading and composition, educational needs of students from a variety of cultural and linguistic backgrounds, contemporary knowledge in the subject matter to be taught, and global studies.

If the information included here does not apply to your renewal situation, please contact our office for the appropriate information. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for State holidays.

A **complete application** qualifying you for renewal of your license must be received before the expiration date of your current license or you must pay a late fee. The late fee is \$25 for each month or portion of a month that you allow your license to expire up to a maximum of \$100 in late fees. If you allow your license to expire more than one year, you must meet the requirements in effect at the time you apply for reinstatement.

To be complete, your application must include the required items submitted in one envelope. **Do not request that any of the items be sent directly to this office.**

Before Putting Everything In The Envelope And Putting It In The Mail, Have You...

- 1. Filled out the application form C-1?
- 2. Signed and dated the application form?
- 3. Enclosed a check for the evaluation fee made payable to TSPC, plus any late fee due?
- 4. Had your district verify your teaching experience and CPD, if required?
- 5. Submitted Program Completion Report Form C-2, if required?
- Enclosed an official transcript bearing the seal of the institution and the signature of the registrar, if required?
- 7. Submit original scores reports from tests of specialty area, if required?
- 8. Enclosed verification of completion of a Commission-approved activity on knowledge of laws prohibiting discrimination, if required? Enclosed a copy of your out-of-state license, if required?