Teacher Standards and Practices Commission
465 Commercial St NE Voice
Salem, OR 97301 Contact.firstname.lastname@example.org
These instructions are for an Oregon Transitional Teaching License. If you are attempting to renew or reinstate any Oregon Teaching license, contact TSPC. The Transitional Teaching License does not meet requirements of No Child Left Behind (NCLB). See enclosure regarding the Preliminary License. If you are eligible for this license you will automatically receive this license with your Transitional Teaching License.
A. Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited* institution or approved foreign equivalent.
B. Completion of an approved teacher education program.
Documents Needed For Application
All documents needed for evaluation of your application must be submitted in a single envelope. An incomplete application will be denied. You will need the following:
A. Official transcripts of all college preparation including verification of degrees conferred.
Official transcripts bear the seal of the institution and signature of the registrar and must be
submitted in a separate sealed registrar’s envelope with your application.
B. A photocopy of a license from another state valid for unrestricted full-time teaching, if you have one.
C. A Form C-2 completed by your teacher education institution verifying completion of an approved teacher education program. If licensure was obtained through an alternative licensure route, you will need to submit information regarding that program to be reviewed by the Executive Director of TSPC.
Form C-2 must be submitted in a separate sealed college or university envelope.
E. Affidavit from the last page of the Publication. “Discrimination and the Oregon Educator”, located on our website under Publications: www.tspc.state.or.us . You must download it, complete and include the signed affidavit in your application packet.
F. Submit one fingerprint card and $62 fingerprint fee.
Oregon law requires that applicants who apply for an Oregon license as an educator must submit one fingerprint card for checking Oregon and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history records. Refer to Instructions For Fulfilling Oregon's Fingerprinting Requirements.
TSPC will not accept any other states fingerprint clearance/background check.
TSPC will not issue a license until a criminal background check has been cleared by both the Oregon State Police and FBI.
G. Complete Application Form C-1 as follows:
ü Provide all information requested on Form C-1. Check that you are applying for a Transitional Teaching License.
ü Complete the character questions attesting to your fitness to serve as an educator and provide all supporting materials if required.
ü If you have been convicted of a DUII and have successfully completed a diversion program, please submit a copy of court documentation verifying successful completion of the diversion program with your application.
ü Sign and date the application within 90 days prior to submitting your materials to TSPC.
H. Submit the application materials and fee.
All applicants: $120
Fingerprint processing fee $62
The application fee is assessed for evaluating your qualifications for an Oregon Transitional Teaching License and is nonrefundable. If you meet the requirements, a license will be issued at no additional cost.
Enclose All Materials In A Single Envelope And Mail Them To:
SALEM, OR 97301
* Regionally accredited associations accepted by TSPC:
· New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)
· North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA)
· Northwest Association of Accredited Schools (NAAS) (Private Schools K-12)
· Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (
· Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)
· Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Private Schools: If you are verifying regionally accredited* private school experience, you must submit documentation of the school’s regional accreditation during the time of the experience you are verifying.